From Nuffnang

Sunday, February 3, 2013

This Week in Philippine History and Culture

Feb. 2, 1987: The Philippines enacts a new constitution, replacing the one enacted in 1973.

Feb. 3, 1927: Politician and diplomat Blas F. Ople (d. December 14, 2003) is born in the town of Hagonoy in Bulacan province.  February 3 is a non-working holiday in the province in commemoration of his birth.

Feb. 3, 1945:  A month-long battle aimed at retaking Manila from Japan was started by the United States and the Philippine Commonwealth. Japanese forces had invaded Manila in January 1942.

Feb. 4, 1899: Shots fired by Private William Walter Grayson on this date in 1899 sparks the Battle of Manila, the first armed conflict fought during the Philippine-American War.

Feb. 5, 1989: Movie and television actress Ara Marie Cristine Reyes, better known as Cristine Reyes is born in Marikina, Metro Manila. A contract artist of ABS-CBN, Reyes is also managed by Viva Artists Agency.

Feb. 6, 1931: Ricardo Cardinal Vidal, Archbishop-Emeritus of Cebu, is born in the town of Mogpog in Marinduque province.

Feb. 6, 1964: Emilio Aguinaldo (b. March 22, 1869), first Philippine President Filipino general, dies at the age of 94. As of 2013, Aguinaldo was the youngest Philippine President, assuming the post in 1899 at the age of 29. He was also the longest-living former President of the Philippines. 

Feb. 6, 1966: Film producer Narcisa Buencamino vda. de Leon (b. October 29, 1877), co-founder of LVN Pictures, dies at the age of 88 in Quezon City.

Feb. 7, 1974: Broadcast journalist Cheryl Cosim, Filipina journalist is born. She currently hosts the radio program Diretsahan on Radyo 5 and the television program Good Morning Club on TV5.

Feb. 8, 1890: Poet and politician Claro M. Recto (d. October 2, 1960) is born in the town of Tiaong in Tayabas (now Quezon) province. Azcarraga, a main road in Manila, was renamed C.M. Recto Avenue in his honor.

Feb. 8, 1939: Writer and activist Jose Maria Sison is born in Cabugao, Ilocos Sur. Using Amado Guerrero, as the nom de guerre, Sison led the Maoist-leaning reformation of the Partido Komunista ng Pilipinas into the Communist Party of the Philippines in 1968.

Feb. 8, 1960: Benigno S. Aquino III, the 15th President of the Philippines, is born in Manila. He is currently serving a six-year term of office since being elected in 2010.

No comments:

Post a Comment