From Nuffnang

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Division of the Province of Kalinga-Apayao

The Philippine province of Kalinga-Apayao in the Cordillera Administrative Region was divided into the provinces of Kalinga and Apayao with the passage of Philippine Republic Act No. 7878 on February 14, 1995.

Almost a year before the division of the province, an article titled 'Separating Kalinga-Apayao will destroy another Marcos legacy' by Frank Cimatu was published on The Philippine Daily Inquirer. According to the article, propagandists saw a slight resemblance of the map of the original province with the profile of former President Ferdinand E. Marcos.  

SOURCE: The Philippine Daily Inquirer / May 16, 1994

No comments:

Post a Comment